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RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 
 
APPEARENCES: Marc Muchin, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the 
Department of Revenue of the State of Illinois; John Doe, pro se. 
 
SYNOPSIS: 
 
 The Department of Revenue (“Department”) issued a “Notice of Tax Liability for 

Form RUT-50” (“Notice”) to John Doe ("Taxpayer").  The Notice alleged Taxpayer 

underpaid Illinois Vehicle Use Tax (“VUT”) for a motor vehicle.  Taxpayer timely 

protested the Notice and requested a hearing.  A hearing was held on November 30, 2009 

where Taxpayer presented testimony and the Department presented documentary and 

testimonial evidence.  At hearing the Department stated that the Notice issued Taxpayer 

should be  revised to reflect a lesser amount of VUT, and as such, the penalty and interest 

amounts originally assessed would have to have concomitant revisions that reflected the 

revised and lower VUT amount.  Following the submission of all evidence and a review 



of the record, it is recommended that this matter be resolved in favor of the Department.  

In support thereof, are made the following findings of fact and conclusions of law. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. The Department’s prima facie case, inclusive of all jurisdictional elements, was 

established by the admission into evidence of the Notice reflecting VUT of $1,000, along 

with a late payment penalty and interest amount.  Dept. Ex. No. 1; Tr. p. 8. 

2.  The Notice was subsequently revised to reflect the VUT amount of $750 based upon 

the vehicle’s value as stated in the North American Dealer Association (“NADA”) Chart.  

The late payment and interest amounts were also revised.  Tr. pp. 10-11. 

3.  The Department, pursuant to the NADA chart, determined that the value of the vehicle 

was $17,300.  Id.  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

 The VUT is codified as part of the Illinois Vehicle Code (“Code”) and imposes a 

tax on “the privilege of using, in this State, any motor vehicle as defined in Section 1-146 

of the Code acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase.” 625 ILCS 5/3-1001.  The VUT, 

which is based upon the vehicle’s selling price, is detailed in a schedule set forth in 

Section 3-1001 of the Code.  This schedule states: 
 
Beginning January 1, 1988, the rate of tax shall be as 
follows for transactions in which the selling price of the 
motor vehicle is $15,000 or more: 
Selling Price Applicable Tax 
$15,000-$19,999 $  750 
$20,000-24,999 $1,000 
$25,000-$29,999 $1,250 
$30,000 and over $1,500 
625 ILCS 5/3-1001.   
 

The Department has issued a regulation which states: 



“selling price” means the consideration received for a 
motor vehicle subject to the tax imposed by this Section 
valued in money, whether received in money or otherwise, 
including cash, credits, service or property.  In the case of 
gifts or transfers without reasonable consideration, “selling 
price” shall be deemed to be the fair market value as 
determined by the Department or the Department’s vendor.  
In determining the fair market value, the Department or its 
vendor shall consider the year, make, model and Vehicle 
Identification Number.  86 Ill. Admin Code, sec. 
151.105(h).    

  The Illinois legislature has granted the Department power to administer and 

enforce provisions of the VUT, including the power “to collect all taxes, penalties and 

interest.”  625 ILCS 5/3-1003.  The Department and persons subject to the VUT are 

granted:  
 

the same rights, remedies, privileges, immunities, powers 
and duties, and be subject to the same conditions, 
restrictions, limitations, penalties and definitions of terms, 
and employ the same modes of procedure, as are prescribed 
in the Use Tax Act, as now or hereafter amended, which 
are not inconsistent with this Article, as fully as if 
provisions contained in those Sections of the Use Tax Act 
were set forth in this Article.   625 ILCS 5/3-1003. 

  
 Section 12 of the Use Tax Act (35 ILCS 105/1 et seq.) incorporates by reference 

section 4 of the Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.) which provides 

that the Department’s determination of the amount owed is prima facie correct and prima 

facie evidence of the correctness of the amount due.   35 ILCS 105/12; 120/4.  The 

presumption of correctness that attaches to the Department’s prima facie case extends to 

all elements of taxability.  See Branson v. Department of Revenue, 68 Ill. 2d 247, 258, 

659 N.E.2d 961, 966-67 (1995) (where Department’s introduction of Notice of Penalty 

Liability established prima facie proof that taxpayer acted with the required mental state 

to be found a responsible officer); Soho Club, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 269 Ill. 

App. 3d 220, 232, 645 N.E.2d 1060, 1068 (1st Dist. 1995) (where Department’s 



introduction of Notice of Tax Liability established prima facie proof that taxpayer was 

engaged in an occupation subject to taxation).   

 Once the Department establishes its prima facie case, the burden of proof shifts to 

the taxpayer to prove, by sufficient documentary evidence, that the tax assessed, 

including penalty and interest, is incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, Inc. v. Department of 

Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 1991); Lakeland Construction Co., Inc. v. 

Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2nd Dist. 1978). 

 To overcome the Department's prima facie case, the Taxpayer must present more 

than testimony denying the accuracy of the Department's assessment.  A. R. Barnes & 

Co. v. Department of Revenue, 173 Ill. App. 3d 826, 833-34 (1st Dist. 1988).  Taxpayer 

must present evidence that is consistent, probable, and identified with books and records, 

to show that the assessment is not correct.  Fillichio v. Department of Revenue, 15 Ill. 2d 

333; A. R. Barnes at 833-34.  

  The Department’s established a prima facie case when its certified copy of the 

Notice was admitted into evidence.  Once this document was admitted into evidence, the 

Department’s position is legally presumed to be correct in its finding that Taxpayer 

acquired a vehicle subject to VUT for which he failed to pay the appropriate amount of 

VUT.  See Branson, supra; Soho Club, supra.  In fact, Taxpayer admitted that he 

acquired the vehicle from another.  Tr. pp. 5, 17. 

 The Department auditor testified that the amounts in the Notice were revised in 

favor of the Taxpayer from a VUT amount of $1,000 to $750.  The basis of the revisions 

was the NADA Chart.  Inasmuch as the VUT was revised, the penalty and interest 

amounts would require a concomitant reduction.  This Department revision does not 



diminish the Department’s determination that there was a transfer subject to VUT for 

which the appropriate amount of tax had not been paid.   

 Taxpayer raises four (4) arguments in support of his position that he did not 

underpay the VUT.  Taxpayer’s first argument is that there was no retail sale of the 

vehicle.  His second argument was that the amount of VUT initially assessed makes the 

revised assessment suspect.  Taxpayer’s third argument was that the car was in terrible 

condition, and as such, not operational so that it could not be worth even $10,000.  The 

fourth and last argument asserted was that it would be impossible for Taxpayer to obtain 

an independent valuation of the car to counter the Department’s Notice because the car 

could not be driven to a dealer for a valuation. 

 Taxpayer’s argument that because there was no sale of the vehicle no VUT was 

due is without basis in the law.  Taxpayer testified that he obtained the car from another 

as satisfaction of a debt.  Tr. pp. 5, 17.  The law does not require there be a sale of the 

vehicle only a transfer of the vehicle from one party to another.    

 Taxpayer next argued that since the Department admitted that its initial Notice did 

not contain the correct VUT amount, the subsequent revision cannot be deemed credible.  

Tr. pp. 18, 25.  The auditor testimony refuted Taxpayer’s allegation.  The auditor testified 

that his review of the Notice found an “honest mistake made by the processing unit.”  Tr. 

p.13.  The auditor further testified that based upon the NADA Chart, the value of the 

vehicle, while less than initially determined by the Department, was $17,300 and as such, 

the vehicle was still subject to VUT.  Tr. pp. 10-11.  Taxpayer offered no basis for his 

challenge save the question “If the first valuation was not credible, why should I believe 

the second valuation?”  Tr. p. 18. Taxpayer’s general questioning of the revision without 



more, such as documentary evidence, is of no value.  See Vitale v. Department of 

Revenue, 118 Ill. App. 3d 210, 212 (3rd Dist.1983) (To overcome a prima facie case 

requires one “establish by documentary evidence that the hypothetical weaknesses are 

relevant.”).  Taxpayer does not even challenge the NADA Chart the Department utilized 

as the basis of the revision.  Consequently, Taxpayer’s challenge to the Department’s 

revision of the Notice is unsubstantiated. 

 Taxpayer testified that the car was not worth $10,000.  Tr. p.17.  Taxpayer 

produced no documentation regarding the car’s value. 

  Taxpayer’s last argument was that it was impossible for him to obtain an 

independent valuation of the vehicle.  He testified that all the dealers contacted refused to 

come to the car to make a valuation.  Tr. p. 20.    Taxpayer further testified that because 

the vehicle was not “operational” he could not drive the car to a dealer.  Tr. pp. 20, 24.  

However, upon cross examination the Taxpayer failed to offer a clear explanation as to 

why he did not have the vehicle towed to a dealer for valuation.  Tr. p. 21. 

 The Department presented its case which included both documentary and 

testimonial evidence.  Taxpayer presented only his testimony.  Taxpayer presented no 

documents to refute the Department’s case.  Hence, Taxpayer failed to introduce legally 

sufficient evidence to overcome the Department’s case.     

 

 

 

 

 



 RECOMMENDATION  

 For the reasons stated above, it is recommended that the Notice of Tax Liability 

for Form RUT-50 be revised to reflect a revised VUT amount of $750 and that the 

penalty and interest amounts also be revised to reflect the amounts due for the revised 

VUT amount of $750. 

 

Julie-April Montgomery 
March 8, 2010      Administrative Law Judge 

 


