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Illinois Department of Revenue

IL-2220 Instructions  2005
General Information

What is the purpose of  this form?
The purpose of this form is to calculate penalties you may owe if
you did not

• make timely estimated payments,
• pay the tax you owe by the original due date, or
• file a processable return by the extended due date.

 Form IL-2220, Computation of Penalties for Businesses
may only be used with original returns or corrected returns filed
before the extended due date. If you are filing an amended return
for any reason, you cannot use Form IL-2220 to calculate your
penalties.

What is late-payment penalty?
Late-payment penalty is a penalty assessed for failure to pay the
tax you owe by the due date. This penalty could result from two
different underpayment situations and is assessed at either 2
percent or 10 percent of the unpaid liability based on the number
of days the payment is late. This method of figuring penalties is for
returns due on or after January 1, 2006.
For returns due before January 1, 2006, see Publication 103,
Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.
You will be assessed late-payment penalty for unpaid tax if you
do not pay the total tax you owe by the original due date of the
return. An extension of time to file does not extend the amount of
time you have to make your payment.
You will be assessed a late-payment penalty for underpayment of
estimated tax if you were required to make estimated tax payments
and failed to do so, or failed to pay the required amount by the
payment due date.
You do not owe the late-payment penalty for underpayment of
estimated taxes if

•  you are not filing Form IL-1120;
•  you were not required to file Form IL-1120 for 2004; or
•  your 2005 net tax liability (Form IL-1120, Step 8, Line 52)

is $400 or less.

What is late-filing or nonfiling penalty?
Late-filing or nonfiling penalty is a penalty assessed for failure to
file a processable return by the extended due date. The penalty is
the lesser of $250 or 2 percent of the tax amount required to be
shown due on your return, reduced by any payments made by the
original due date and any credits allowed on your return.
An additional penalty will be assessed if you do not file a
processable return within 30 days of the date we notify you that we
are not able to process your return. This additional penalty is equal
to the greater of $250 or 2 percent of the tax shown due on your
return, determined without regard to payments and credits, and
may be assessed up to a maximum of $5,000.

Do I need to complete this form if I owe penalties?
No, you do not need to complete this form if you owe penalties.
You may choose to have us figure your penalties and send you a
bill instead of completing and filing this form yourself. If you choose
to have us figure your penalties, complete your return as usual and
do not attach Form IL-2220. However, you must complete this form
if you are using the annualized income installment method for late-
payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax in Step 6.

If you prefer to calculate your penalties, complete this form. For
more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for
Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication,
• visit our web site at www.tax.illinois.gov;
• call our 24-hour Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302; or
• call our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf)

at 800 544-5304.

What if I underpaid my estimated tax because of
a change in the law during the tax year?
If a change in the IITA enacted during the tax year increased your
liability and the new statute does not specifically provide for relief
from penalties, you may reduce or eliminate your penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax by using the annualized income
installment method in Step 6 and computing your income and
liability for each period according to the IITA in effect as of the end
of that period. See Specific Instructions for Step 6.

Specific Instructions
Step 1: Complete the following information
Lines 1 through 4 — Follow the instructions on the form.

Step 2: Figure your required installments
(Form IL-1120 filers only)

Line 5 — Write in Column A the total net income and
replacement tax written on your 2005 Form IL-1120, Step 8, Line
52.  Write in Column B the total net income and replacement tax
written on your 2004 Form IL-1120, Part II, Line 3.
If the preceding year's return was for a short tax year, or you
reported zero total net tax, write “N/A” in Column B.

 For Columns A and B, if a corrected return was filed for
either year on or before the automatic extension date, the
corrected tax should be used. If an amended return was filed after
the automatic extension date for either year, use the most current
tax reported prior to that date.
Line 6 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 7 — If Column A, Line 5 is $400 or less, write “0” and go to
Step 3. Otherwise, write the lesser of Column A, Line 6, or
Column B, Line 5. If you wrote “N/A” in Column B, write the
amount from Column A, Line 6.
Lines 8 and 9 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 10 — Write the amount of your required installment for
each due date. For most taxpayers, this is the amount shown on
Line 8. However, if you are annualizing your income, write the
amounts from Step 6, Line 47.

 Annualized income installment method:  If your
income was not received evenly throughout the year, you may be
able to lower or eliminate the amount of your required installment
by using the annualized income installment method in Step 6.
If you choose to annualize your income in Step 6, you must use
this method for all installments. When completing the worksheet,
select the lesser of the annualized income installment or the
regular installment to arrive at the amount of each required
installment.
Line 11 —
Quarter 1 — Write the amount of credit carried forward from
the prior year.
Line 12 —
Quarter 1 — Subtract Line 11 from Line 10 and write that
amount here. If this amount is negative, use brackets.
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Continue applying payments in date order until the unpaid
amount in Column C has been satisfied (Column E is an
overpayment, zero, or you wrote “0” in Column D).

• zero or negative, you have paid your tax. Write the
amount here and, if negative, use brackets. Complete
columns F through I.

If this amount is negative, you may apply this overpay-
ment if you have an underpayment when figuring your Penalty
Worksheet 2. See the instructions for Penalty Worksheet 2,
Column D.
If you wrote “0” in Column D, write the amount from Column C
here, and complete Columns F through I.
Column F — Write the date the payment in Column D was
made. If Column D is “0,” do not write a date and skip to Column
H.
Column G — Figure the number of days from the date in
Column B to the date in Column F and write that number here.
This is the number of days the payment was late.
Column H — Write the penalty rate that applies to the number
of days you wrote in Column G. See the penalty rates listed at the
top of Page 2 of the form, below the note.
If Column D is “0,” write 10 percent (.10).
Column I — Figure this amount using the payment portion in
either Column C or Column D.
If Column D is “0” or if Column E is “0” or an “overpayment,”
multiply Column C by Column H. Otherwise, multiply Column D
by Column H and write the amount here.
Line 22 — Add Column I. This is your late-payment penalty
for unpaid tax. Write the amount here and on Line 29a.

Penalty Worksheet 2 — Late-payment penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax
If the amount on Line 14 is a positive number (greater than zero)
for any quarter, you may owe a late payment penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax. Use this worksheet to figure
the penalty for any unpaid quarter.

If you paid the required amount from Line 14 by the due
date on Line 9 for each quarter, do not complete Penalty
Worksheet 2.
Line 23 — Write the amount and the date of each estimated tax
payment you made during the year. List the payments in date order.
Do not include any payments already written on Lines 17 or 20.

If you did not complete Penalty Worksheet 1, write any
payment made after your due date on Line 23. Apply this payment
to any amount in Column C that is unpaid after applying any
overpayment from Line 19.
Line 24 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Column C — Write the underpaid amount from Line 14 on the
first line of the appropriate quarter. Do not write any overpaid
amounts in this column.
Column D — Apply to the first unpaid quarter, the estimated
tax payment (from Line 23) with the earliest payment date.
Continue applying estimated tax payments in date order until all
unpaid amounts in Column C have been satisfied (Column E is
zero or an overpayment for all unpaid quarters) or you have no
more estimated tax payments to apply.

See the example on Page 4.
If you have applied all of your estimated tax payments and
Column C remains unpaid for any quarter, you may apply

• any overpayment from Line 19, or
• any overpayment from Penalty Worksheet 1, Column E.

If you have applied all of your payments and overpayments and
you still have an unpaid amount in Column C, write “0” here.

Quarters 2 through 4 — Write the amount from Line 10.
Lines 13 and 14 — Complete Lines 13 and 14 of each quarter
before proceeding to the next quarter. Follow the instructions on
the form.

Step 3:  Figure your unpaid tax
Line 15 — Write your total net income and replacement tax
from:

• Form IL-1120, Step 8, Line 52;
• Form IL-1120-ST, Part II, Line 5;
• Form IL-1065, Part II, Line 9;
• Form IL-1041, Part II, Line 3;
• Form IL-1023-C, Part III, Line 9; or
• Form IL-990-T, Part IV, Line 5.

Line 16a and 16b — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 17a — Write the amount and the date of your Form
IL-505-B payment, made on or before your original due date.
Line 17b — Write the amount and the date of any other
payment you made on or before your original due date.
Add Lines 17a and 17b.
Line 18 — Add Lines 16 and 17.
Line 19 — Subtract Line 18 from Line 15. If the amount is

• positive, write the amount here. You owe a late-payment
penalty for unpaid tax. Continue to Step 4 and write this

amount in Penalty Worksheet 1, Column C.
• zero or negative, write the amount here and, if negative,

use brackets. You do not owe a late-payment penalty for
unpaid tax. Continue to Step 4, skip Penalty Worksheet 1,
and go to Penalty Worksheet 2.

 If this amount is negative, you may apply this overpayment if
you have an underpayment when figuring your Penalty Worksheet 2.
See the instructions for Penalty Worksheet 2, Column D.

Step 4:  Figure your late-payment penalty
Use Penalty Worksheet 1 to figure your late-payment penalty for
unpaid tax.
Use Penalty Worksheet 2 to figure your late-payment penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax.

You must follow the instructions in order to properly
complete the penalty worksheets.

Penalty Worksheet 1 — Late-payment penalty for
unpaid tax
Line 20 — Write the amount and the date of any payments you
made after your original due date. List the payments in date
order. If you need to list more than two, write them next to Lines
20a and 20b.
Line 21 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Column B — Write the original due date of your return.
Column C — Write the amount from Line 19.
Column D — Apply the payment from Line 20 with the earliest
date.
Continue applying payments in date order until the unpaid
amount in Column C has been satisfied (Column E is zero or an
overpayment).
If you have no more payments to apply and Column C remains
unpaid, write “0” in Column D and complete Columns E through I.

See the example on Page 4.
Column E — Subtract the payment in Column D from the
unpaid amount in Column C.
If this amount is

• positive, complete Columns F through I. Write this
positive (unpaid) amount on the next line in Column C.
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Step 6: Complete the annualization worksheet
for Step 2, Line 10
You should complete this worksheet if your income was not
received evenly throughout the year, and you choose to annualize
your income. If you complete this worksheet, check the box on
Form IL-1120, Part II, under Line 7, and attach this form to your
return.
Complete each column, Lines 31 through 47 before going to the
next column.
If the IITA was amended during your tax year and changed how
you compute your net income, and the amendment does not
provide relief for taxpayers who computed their estimated tax
obligations following the old law, use the old law to compute your
net income for each period ending before the date the amend-
ment became law.
For example, a law was passed on July 30, 2004, that disallows
certain deductions allowed under prior law, for tax years ending
on or after December 31, 2004. A taxpayer completing this form
for calendar year 2004 should compute the amounts in Columns
B and C, Line 31, and Columns A and B, Line 34, by treating the
deduction as though no law changes were made. The amount in
Column D, Line 31, and Columns C and D, Line 34, must be
computed by adding back the deduction in accordance with the
new law.
To figure your tax liability on Line 38 for a period before a new act
became law, use the tax rates and credits under the old law.
For example, the Research and Development Credit was re-
pealed by law, effective June 20, 2003, for tax years ending on or
after December 31, 2003. The credit was reinstated July 30,
2004, for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2004. A
calendar-year taxpayer could use the Research and Development
Credit to reduce the tax liability on the 2003 Form IL-2220, in
Columns A and B, Line 38, but not for Columns C or D.
The credit could be used again on the 2004 Form IL-2220, in
Column D, Line 38, but not Columns A and B. The credit may be
used in Column C of the 2004 Form IL-2220 only if the income
used to compute the liability on Line 38 is the annualized amount
for the first eight months of the year on Line 36. The credit may
not be used if the annualized income for the first six months of the
year on Line 33 is used, because the law restoring the credit was
not in effect as of June 30, 2004.
Line 31 — In Columns B through D, calculate and write the net
income that would have been shown on Form IL-1120, Step 5,
Line 39, if you had completed a 2005 Form IL-1120 for the first
three months, the first six months, and the first nine months of the
tax year.

Net income from Form IL-1120, Step 5, Line 39, is base
income after apportionment and Illinois net loss deduction.
Line 33 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 34 — In Columns A through D, calculate and write the net
income that would have been shown on Form IL-1120, Step 5,
Line 39, if you had completed a 2005 Form IL-1120 for the first
three months, the first five months, the first eight months, and the
first eleven months of the tax year.
Lines 36 through 37 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 38 — Using the net income on Line 37, calculate and write
in each column the total net income and replacement tax that
would have been shown on Form IL-1120, Step 8, Line 52, if you
had completed a 2004 Form IL-1120 for each period.

Your total net income and replacement tax from
Form IL-1120,Step 8, Line 52 is tax after recapture and all
appropriate credits. (Refer to Form IL-1120, Steps 6 and 7.)
Lines 40 through 47 — Follow the instructions on the form.

Complete Columns E through I.
Column E — Subtract the payment in Column D from the
unpaid amount in Column C.
If this amount is

• positive, complete Columns F through I. Write this positive
(unpaid) amount on the next line in Column C. Continue
applying payments in date order until Column E is an overpayment,
zero, or you have written “0” in Column D.

• zero or negative, you have paid this quarter. Write the
amount here and, if negative, use brackets. Complete
Columns F through I. Apply any negative (overpayment)
amount in Column E to the next underpaid quarter.

If you wrote “0” in Column D, write the amount from Column C
here, and complete Columns F through I.
Column F — Write the date of the estimated income tax
payment you applied in Column D as shown on Line 23. If

• you are applying an overpayment from Line 19, write the
date that corresponds to that payment, shown on either
Line 17a or 17b.

• you are applying an overpayment from Penalty Worksheet 1,
Column E, write the date that corresponds to that payment,
shown on either Line 20a or 20b.

• Column D is “0,” do not write a date in Column F and skip
to Column H.

Column G — Figure the number of days from the date in
Column B to the date in Column F and write that number here.
This is the number of days the payment was late.
Column H — Write the penalty rate that applies to the number
of days you wrote in Column G. See the penalty rates listed at the
top of Page 2 of the form, below the note.
If Column D is “0,” write 10 percent (.10).
Column I — Figure this amount using the payment portion in
either Column C or Column D.
If Column D is “0” or if Column E is “0” or an “overpayment,”
multiply Column C by Column H. Otherwise, multiply Column D
by Column H and write the amount here.
Line 25 — Add Column I, Quarters 1 through 4. This is your
late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax.
Write the total amount here and on Line 29b.

Step 5: Figure your late-filing penalty and your
total penalties
Complete Lines 26 through 28 to figure your late-filing penalty
only if

• you are filing your return after your extended due date; and
• your tax was not paid by the original due date.

Otherwise, you do not owe a late-filing penalty.
Line 26 — Write the amount of tax due from your annual return.
Your tax due is tax minus any timely payments and credits.
Lines 27 and 28 — Follow the instructions on the form.
Line 29a — Write your late-payment penalty for unpaid tax from
Line 22.
Line 29b — Write your late-payment penalty for underpayment
of estimated tax from Line 25.
Line 29 — Add Lines 29a and 29b.
Line 30 — Add Lines 28 and 29. Write “penalty” and this
amount to the left of the tax due line on your annual return.
Include this penalty amount in your payment. If you are overpaid,
your refund or credit to your 2006 estimated tax will be reduced
by this amount.
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ABC Corporation’s total Illinois income and replacement tax
is $1,875, as shown on their 12/2004 Form IL-1120, Part II,
Line 3. The 2003 tax was $2,600. The corporation filed their
IL-1120 on September 1, 2005, and paid $300 with the return.

(187 x .10 = 18.70)

(200 x .10 = 20.00)
(122 x .10 = 12.20)

(422 x .10 = 42.20)

(216 x .10 = 21.60)

(34 x .02 = .68)
(113 x .10 = 11.30)
(275 x .10 = 27.50)

The corporation made the following estimated
payments:

$100  4-15-05 $750  9-13-05
$200  6-16-05 $250  12-20-05

Calculations

Example


